Home News India thrash Australia to win ODI series 4-1

India thrash Australia to win ODI series 4-1

by Jal Pari
India Thrash Australia To Win Odi Series 4 1 1506984945 4343.jpg

NAGPUR – Opener Rohit Sharma hit a dominant century as India thrashed Australia by seven wickets within the fifth and last one-day worldwide on Sunday, clinching the sequence Four-1.

Chasing 243 for victory, the hosts rode on Sharma’s 109-ball 125 to realize their goal in 42.5 overs at Nagpur and transfer to the highest of the ODI world rankings desk. The Virat Kohli-led aspect had slipped behind South Africa after their loss within the fourth sport however are actually primary within the Worldwide Cricket Council rankings for ODIs. They had been already the highest Take a look at workforce.

It was a disciplined bowling effort led by spinner Axar Patel, who claimed three wickets, that arrange India’s snug victory after limiting the guests to 242-9. In reply, Sharma and Rahane made batting look straightforward on a two-paced monitor and prolonged the groups’ dominance within the match and the sequence. Sharma, who opened his account with two successive boundaries after 14 deliveries, was the primary to get to his fifty with a double off Marcus Stoinis.

Rahane additionally bought his fourth successive 50-plus rating earlier than being trapped lbw by paceman Nathan Coulter-Nile. Sharma went on to register his 14th ODI ton throughout his 99-run partnership with Kohli, who made a sedate 39.

He bought to his hundred with a six off Coulter-Nile. Leg-spinner Adam Zampa despatched Sharma and Kohli again to pavilion. Kedar Jadhav, unbeaten on 5, and Manish Pandey, 11 not out, then noticed the workforce workforce by means of.

Earlier, opener David Warner’s 62-ball 53 was not sufficient to encourage Australian batting as they ended on 242-9 after electing to bat first. Travis Head and Stoinis tried arduous to counter a persistent Indian bowling with their 87-run fifth-wicket partnership, however their departure spelt additional hassle for the guests.

Head, who made 42, and Stoinis, who scored 46, didn’t convert their begins into larger scores as Australia completely misplaced steam within the last 5 overs.

Left-arm spinner Patel returned spectacular figures of Three-38 whereas quick bowler Jasprit Bumrah claimed two wickets. The motion now shifts to the three Twenty20 internationals beginning Saturday in Ranchi.





D Warner c Pandey b Patel    53

A Finch c Bumrah b Pandya  32

S Smith lbw b Jadhav 16

P Handscomb c Rahane b Patel          13

T Head b Patel            42

M Stoinis lbw b Bumrah        46

M Wade c Rahane b Bumrah 20

J Faulkner run out      12

P Cummins not out     2

N Coulter-Nile b Bumrah       Zero

EXTRAS: (b1, lb2, w3)          6

TOTAL: (9 wickets; 50 overs)           242

FOW: 1-66, 2-100, Three-112, Four-118, 5-205, 6-210, 7-237, Eight-242, 9-242.

BOWLING: Kumar Eight-Zero-40-1, Bumrah 10-2-51-2, Pandya 2-Zero-14-1, Yadav 10-1-48-Zero, Jadhav 10-Zero-48-1, Patel 10-Zero-38-Three.


A Rahane lbw b Coulter-Nile 61

R Sharma c Coulter-Nile b Zampa    125

V Kohli c Stoinis b Zampa     39

Okay Jadhav not out         5

M Pandey not out       11

EXTRAS: (lb1, w1)    2

TOTAL: (Three wickets, 42.5 overs)        243

FOW: 1-124, 2-223, Three-227.

BOWLING: Cummins 7-1-29-Zero, Coulter-Nile 9-Zero-42-1, Stoinis Four-Zero-20-Zero, Faulkner 5.5-Zero-37-Zero, Zampa Eight-Zero-59-2, Head 6-Zero-38-Zero, Finch Three-Zero-17-Zero.

TOSS: Australia

UMPIRES: Marais Erasmus (RSA), CK Nandan (IND)

TV UMPIRE: Richard Illingworth (ENG)



You may also like

Leave a Comment